NORTH CAROLINA DEPARTMENT OF TRANSPORTATION

Draft State Transportation Improvement Program 2026-2035

Public Informational Sessions February 17 – March 17, 2025

What is the State Transportation Improvement Program?

The State Transportation Improvement Program (STIP) identifies the construction funding and scheduling of transportation projects at the state level over a 10-year period. Although federal law requires the plan to be updated every four years, the N.C. Department of Transportation proactively updates it every two years to ensure it accurately reflects the state's current financial situation.

What is the purpose of the meetings?

The N.C. Department of Transportation is inviting the public to provide feedback on the Draft 2026-2035 State Transportation Improvement Program. The STIP is developed under the <u>Strategic Transportation</u> Investments law (STI), which established the <u>Strategic Mobility Formula</u>.

Over the past 18 months, NCDOT has worked closely with the public, legislature, local planning organizations, and other stakeholders to implement this law and develop the Draft STIP.

As part of this effort, NCDOT will host regional drop-in sessions (see attached flyer) across the state between **February 17 and March 17**, **2025**. These sessions and the broader outreach effort aim to gather input on:

- The variety and geographic diversity of projects;
- The process used to develop the STIP;
- Ideas for improvement.

Your Input Matters

This communication is an invitation to participate in shaping North Carolina's transportation network. The public comment period will run from **January 31**, **2025**, **to April 4**, **2025**.

If you cannot attend an in-person session, you can view and prioritize projects and submit your comments electronically via PublicInput.com at: https://publicinput.com/2026-2035-stip-development.

All comments, regardless of how they are submitted, will be given equal consideration. Additional information, including links to the PublicInput.com site, is available at: https://www.ncdot.gov/initiativespolicies/Transportation/stip/development/Pages/default.aspx.

Next Steps

After the public comment period concludes, NCDOT will review and address all comments. Feedback will be shared with the Board of Transportation and the Final 2026-2035 STIP is expected to be approved by the Board of Transportation in **Summer 2025.**

NCDOT will provide auxiliary aids and services under the Americans with Disabilities Act for disabled persons who want to participate in this meeting. Anyone requiring special services should contact Ronald Coleman at rcoleman2@ncdot.gov or 919-707-7050 as early as possible so that arrangements can be made.

Meeting Dates, Contacts, Locations and Times

DIVISION 1 (EDENTON)	March 3-7	
Chris Slachta, PE (252-482-1872)	<mark>8-5pm</mark>	NCDOT Division 1 Office
cslachta@ncdot.gov (Camden, Currituck, Dare, Gates, Pasquotank, Perquimans, Bertie, Hertford,	<u> </u>	113 Airport Drive, Suite 100 Edenton, 27932
Northampton, Chowan, Hyde, Martin, Tyrrell and Washington counties)		Edenton, 2/932
DIVISION 2 (KINSTON)	Feb. 24-28	
Len White, Jr. (252) 775-6108	8-5pm	NCDOT Division 2 Office
<u>lenwhite@ncdot.gov</u>	o-Shiii	2815 Rouse Road Extension.
(Beaufort, Carteret, Craven, Greene, Jones, Lenoir, Pamlico, and Pitt counties)		Kinston 28504
DIVISION 3 (CASTLE HAYNE)	Feb.17-21	NODOT Disision a Office
Adrienne Cox (910) 341-2100	8-5pm	NCDOT Division 3 Office 5505 Barbados Blvd.
amcox1@ncdot.gov	o Jpin	Castle Hayne, 28429
(Brunswick, Duplin, Onslow, New Hanover, Pender, and Sampson counties)	7.1	
DIVISION 4 (WILSON)	Feb. 24-28	NCDOT Division 4 Office
James Salmons, PLS (252) 640-6431 jmsalmons@ncdot.gov	8-5pm	509 Ward Blvd
(Edgecombe, Halifax, Johnston, Nash, Wayne and Wilson counties)		Wilson, 27895
DIVISION 5 (DURHAM)	Feb.24-28	
David Keilson (919) 317-4700	_	NCDOT Division 5 Office
dpkeilson@ncdot.gov	8-5pm	2612 N. Duke St. Durham, 27704
(Durham, Franklin, Granville, Person, Vance, Wake and Warren counties)		Durnam, 2//04
DIVISION 6 (FAYETTEVILLE)	Feb.24-28	NCDOT Division 6 Office
Phillip Hart (910) 364-0622	8-5pm	558 Gillespie St.
<u>pjhart@ncdot.gov</u> (Bladen, Columbus, Cumberland, Harnett and Robeson counties)	51	Fayetteville, 28301
DIVISION 7 (GREENSBORO)	Feb.24-28	
Chad Reimakoski (336) 487-0000	_	NCDOT Division 7 Office
jcreimakoski@ncdot.gov	8-5pm	1584 Yanceyville St.
(Alamance, Caswell, Guilford, Orange, and Rockingham counties)		Greensboro, 27405
DIVISION 8 (CARTHAGE)	Feb.24-28	
Bryan Kluchar (910) 773-8021	8-5pm	NCDOT Division 8 Office
bdkluchar@ncdot.gov	o or	121 DOT Drive
(Chatham, Hoke, Lee, Montgomery, Moore, Randolph, Richmond, and Scotland counties)		Carthage, 28327
DIVISION 9 (WINSTON SALEM)	March 3-7	
Fred Haith (336) 747-7800		NCDOT Division 9 Office
fdhaith1@ncdot.gov	8-5pm	375 Silas Creek Parkway
(Davidson, Davie, Forsyth, Rowan and Stokes counties)		Winston-Salem, 27127
DIVISION 10 (ALBEMARLE)	March 17-21	Division 10 Office
Theo Ghitea, PE (980) 262-6292	8-5pm	716 W Main St,
tghitea@ncdot.gov	- Or	Albemarle 28001
(Anson, Cabarrus, Mecklenburg, Stanly, and Union counties) DIVISION 11 (NORTH WILKSBORO)	Feb. 17-21	
Sean Sizemore (336) 903-9113	•	NCDOT Division 11 Office
sbsizemore@ncdot.gov	8-5pm	801 Statesville Road
(Alleghany, Ashe, Avery, Caldwell, Surry, Watauga, Wilkes, and Yadkin		North Wilkesboro, 28659
counties)		, 0,
DIVISION 12 (SHELBY)	Feb. 24-28	NCDOT Division 12 Office
Anil Panicker (980) 552-4210	8-5pm	NCDOT Division 12 Office 1710 East Marion St.
atpanicker@ncdot.gov	o Spin	Shelby, 28152
(Alexander, Catawba, Cleveland, Gaston, Iredell, and Lincoln counties)	Esh o : -0	
DIVISION 13 (ASHEVILLE)	Feb 24-28	NCDOT Division to Office
Hannah Smith (828) 250-3026 hksmith@ncdot.gov	8-5pm	NCDOT Division 13 Office 55 Orange Street
(Buncombe, Burke, Madison, McDowell, Mitchell, Rutherford, and Yancey		Asheville, 28801
counties)		,,
DIVISION 14 (SYLVA)	Feb. 24-28	
Steve Williams (828) 331-5227	8-5pm	NCDOT Division 14 Office
sjwilliams@ncdot.gov	o Spin	253 Webster Road
(Cherokee, Clay, Graham, Haywood, Henderson, Jackson, Macon, Polk,		Sylva, 28779
Swain and Transylvania counties)		